• Suburb : East Brisbane 4169
  • Region : Brisbane
  • State : Queensland
  • Duration : 6 days
  • Arrive : 25-Sep-2022
  • Depart : 30-Sep-2022
  • Pet care required : Dogs, Cats, Chickens
  • Special features : Caravan Parking, Families Welcome
  • Location : Public Transport, Restaurants


Hi there!

We are taking the kids on a short holiday to see the Great Barrier Reef.

We have a comfortable 3 bedroom house with pool and back deck in East Brisbane very close to the Mowbray Ferry Terminal (about 2.5km from the Brisbane CBD) and one street away from the river and the breezy, historic Mowbray Park. The house is air conditioned and we have high speed broadband and access to Netflix, Stan, and Disney +. A small caravan/camper could be parked in our driveway (note it would be shaded by a Moreton Bay Fig tree) but an additional car would need to be parked on the street.

We have 2 cats (Pippi and Claude the talkative Tonkinese), 2 large dogs (Sassa the wolfhound X and Zippo is a whippet or greyhound X we think) as well as 5 chooks that will have just started laying eggs. We also have some plants that will need a water while we are away.

There's also some basic pool tasks but it is a brand new magnesium pool that is mostly automated. One of our dogs has an eye condition that requires eye drops each day but Sassa is used to that so it’s not difficult. The dogs require a short walk on leash (for eg in the park across the road each day).

We have started to renovate parts of the house to a high standard - one bedroom and the bathroom are new. The bathroom (with cedar wood Japanese bath) and inground pool and back pergola in our backyard have won some design awards so there are some creature comforts to enjoy ;-) even if the major reno hasn't happened yet. We can send pictures of the house and pets. The unrenovated parts are very liveable.

We are close to everything (GABBA, city, Fortitude Valley, Howard Smith Wharves bars and restaurants, Wollongabba etc) and only 4min bus ride to the city and ferries are at our doorstep. There are fantastic Japanese as well as Indonesian and Korean street food places across the road as well as a Thai restaurant nearby and other takeaway food options. The local supermarket (IGA) is walking distance as is the post office. We have a major road alongside us but the house is positioned lower and we have made adaptions to the house to minimise noise. In any case, if you prefer it very quiet the house has a fresh air circulation system that allows us to close all windows. There are always lots of rentable electric scooters in our area and a dedicated bike path runs alongside an adjacent park buffer zone.

We are looking for an individual/couple/family who are responsible and confident with dogs and cats. (Please note small children will not be an ideal match as our dogs are large, albeit calm creatures).

We look forward to hearing from you!

Contact Homeowner

This home owner is still seeking a house sitter.

If you are already a member, please login if you wish to contact this home owner.

If you are not yet a member, you'll need to join before you can send them a message.